Pausing on top of a fence batten

A late morning jog. The tide was coming in; never an ideal time for waders, and so it proved this morning. Quickly changed the plan from wading in the water myself, and ran and walked around the point, along Fidelis Beach and around to Algies Bay before climbing up to Highfield Garden Reserve.

I went past the donkeys, which had just ended being the centre of attention of a number of family groups, whom I saw leaving. At which time this Piwakawaka (fantail) darted into my visual field and proceeded to sit on the wire, or the battens, between making brief darts around after flying insects.

For long enough it stayed on this batten for me to get the best shot. About then, its cavorting had attracted another , and the two of them went elsewhere to do whatever Piwakawaka do when together.

After lunch I went to the road frontage of the house, and worked on trying to tame, subdue, limit a little, the great overgrowth of the roses in a garden on the southern fence line. Sensibly, I wore a long sleeved top as well as gloves and avoided being punctured. Feeling that I am gaining some control of the rampant growth which has occurred over the last few years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.