An old one

There was no chance of getting a photo of the Solstice sunrise this morning as the clouds which had brought heavy overnight rain were still covering the sky. It was not until mid morning that the sun was seen. So I deferred my run until this afternoon,  and chose to start out almost at the same time as it started raining again. Fortunately it wasn't cold.

My route took me from Arch Hill across the motorway which runs along the bottom of the Kingsland gully by a pedestrian bridge to Eden Terrace. A loop along Dominion Road to George Street back to New North Road, where I saw this manhole cover. It is clearly old. Not only by appearance, but by the entry in the Cyclopedia of New Zealand (1902) about the foundry. At the start of the Kingsland Village Centre I turned right on Bond Street to pass over the motorway on Bond Street bridge, back to the apartment. 

I am getting a new perspective on the city in which I live.
And one thing I’ve learned is that Russell Street in Arch Hill is now named Cooper Street. Name changes in the central city and Ponsonby with a street in Ponsonby being renamed Russell Street, meant a change for Arch Hill as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.