Demoiselle Day

Still not feeling great, but so enjoyed getting back into the canoe last night that J suggests we go out to a quiet stretch of canal for a bit of nature nurture. All I have to do is sit there, enjoy, and take a few photos. 
It’s wonderful - teeming with damselflies and banded demoiselle, I’ve never seen them in numbers like this before in the glorious summer solstice sunshine. There are several dragonflies too.
It’s a challenge taking photos from the canoe, but I’m certainly not complaining, there’s something about the feeling of immersion that comes with being on the water, and up close and personal to these fantastic flying beauties that is really something special.
The blip, I think shows Mrs D laying her eggs, but please correct me if I’m wrong. Mr D was in attendance and seeing off any unwanted attention- you can see the 2 of them in the first extra. Second extra shows the emperor dragonfly - they don’t stop for long! 
Thank you so much for your kind responses to my reflections blip yesterday 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.