CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Juvenile great spotted woodpecker eating suet

Two days ago I heard a noise of birds outside my study window . On looking out I saw an adult great spotted woodpecker on this bird feeder getting suet pellets and then hopping a foot away onto the wooden trellis to feed its young which waited expectantly. I grabbed a camera and went downstairs and tried to get close to the closed patio doors bnut my movement frightened them off.

Today I saw the back of this woodpecker gripping the flower basket. It turned around and I realised it was a juvenile, shown by the light red colour near its tail. I might be the same bird. At least I managed to creep closer before it saw me through the sliding doors once again. It was hard top get a sharp image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.