Counting Stars

The white faced darter is always a pleasure to see and I went back to my favourite spot on Whixall Heath to try and get them on camera. A two hour drive to get there, 'because there're worth it'.

Sadly there weren't as many around and the ones that were around were getting serious grief from the two annoying four spotted chasers who think they own the pond. One wonders where this will go in the end. I saw only a couple of males perching and trying to regain territory but when they did perch close enough .... I got this or many many like this  as my shutter was on fire. 

True to form I got slightly wet in the process and my socks kinda squelched when I walked but on the plus side I didn't fall in so I was a winner. 

It was far too hot I am reliably told for the large Heath butterflies to be settling and this should have warned me as I went on to Prees Heath where the silver studded blues reside that all might be tricky there too which it was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.