No fog on the Tyne

Backblip

I didn’t sleep too well during the night. C doesn’t have blackout blinds on her windows so couldn’t sleep on as was so light. It didn’t matter I was going home today.

G was leaving in the 11 o’clock train as she had to pick up wee Rose from her mum. After dropping her off at the station C, Dave and I headed for brunch somewhere down by the quayside. We found a nice place , quite busy but we got a table. I had the home made granola with Greek yogurt and fruit and the other two had a full English! I’m not a big fan of this especially with it covered in baked beans - boke!

After this wee wandered along the river in the sunshine and there was some sort of market stalls set up. It was a nice atmosphere.

We went to the Baltic building which has art exhibitions and a great gift shop (the V and A should take a lesson from them)! I love a good gift shop. I got a little golden cocker spaniel pin for my denim jacket, some sort of thing that makes into a bird and a cool Angel of the North fridge magnet! I could have bought loads it was that good.

We went out to the top of the Baltic building to see the view Down the river and also to see the famous Kittiwakes who nest along the side of the building. I had actually seen this on Springwatch last week. We could see the babies desperate for food.

I got the train at 3, it was busy again. They didn’t have any hot food only the cold stuff. I had planned the meal to be my tea but have to revert to plan b. I was sitting next to four (one over the aisle) black women from Islington In London who were going on holiday up to Inverness for four days to celebrate a birthday. They were such a hoot. I had to laugh when they asked me if it would be cold in Inverness as they had not brought any coats……. I thought , why????

Met at the station by S who had been camping away at Loch Lomond and some paddleboarding. We were both shattered!

I’ve added a picture of Cameron sitting in a spot where a homeless guy usually sits waiting to get picked up by his Papa as his train connection to Perth was cancelled! He got on brilliantly navigating London and off to the meeting he was going to somewhere called Ching…. I felt quite proud of him going away down there and getting on fine and with the confidence to do so. I suppose the scouts teach life skills . His mum asked him if he had showered since Friday and of course that was a no lol!

Remembering Dad each and every day not just Fathers Day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.