Triple Whammy!

On This Day In History
1611: Henry Hudson set adrift by mutineers

Quote Of The Day
"The land is the finest for cultivation that I ever in my life set foot upon. Were our own industrious farmers to settle here, they would soon transform this wilderness into a Paradise where no man need ever go hungry .... Never have I beheld such a rich and pleasant land."
(Henry Hudson)

Having finished reading It yesterday - my daughter is itching to read it next - I now embark upon the brilliant Dan Simmons' The Terror, with a cracking endorsement from Stephen King on the cover. "A brilliant, massive combination of history and supernatural horror," says the master of horror. As my wife said when she saw the cover, "You love history, you love the supernatural and you love horror. You'll love that!"

Is it tempting fate that I shall begin reading this book about the horrors that befall Sir John Franklin and his crew in the Arctic during their disastrous search for a North-West Passage on the day that Henry Hudson was set adrift by mutineers owing to the horrors he and his crew endured during their search for the North-West Passage as I travel by train this morning?

We shall see.

The Fear

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.