Holy Movie Merchandise!

On This Day In History
1989: Tim Burton's Batman is released

Quote Of The Day
"Batman! Batman! Can somebody tell me what kind of a world we live in, where a man dressed up as a BAT gets all of my press? This town needs an enema!"
(The Joker, Batman)

There were many things to love about Tim Burton's Batman, among them Anton Furst's magnificent production designs, the brilliant performances of Jack Nicholson and Michael Keaton - and yes, I was among the nay-sayers who had to eat my words over Tim Burton's choice of the comedy actor in the titular role - but, most of all, I think, was Danny Elfman's incredible score. Still the best Batman theme ever, in my opinion. Of course, Elfman is a genius and the fact that he has never won an Oscar is just one more reason for me to disregard the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences as irrelevant.

Unfortunately, Batman was also marred by having too many producers diluting Burton's vision, an error corrected in the superior Batman Returns which was pure Tim Burton. Siouxsie and the Banshees were way more appropriate than Prince.

Batman

Face To Face

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.