Philadelphus

The Philadelphus is at its most perfect. This is the view down onto it from my balcony, a huge, overgrown shrub outside the window loaded with simple, waxy blossoms with their characteristic bright yellow stamens.

I cleaned, sliced and froze over four kilos of rhubarb. I'm not sure what to do with it - we already have a batch of rhubarb and ginger jam from last summer and most of a batch of rhubarb chutney. in the pantry. I like rhubarb cordial, but I'm the only one who does and I'm trying to limit sugar, and therefore not really drinking cordial. I nonetheless picked another big bowl of elderflowers for another batch of elderflower cordial, and set them to steep with lots of lemon zest. J and P both like elderflower, so I'm confident that will be used.over the coming months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.