and through the wire...

By hesscat

Here We Go Again

What is it about June? In June 2018 I begun my biggest eva DIY project to insulate, floor and wall-ify our attic. From what i can make out from my photos, I downed tools in Jun 2019 and I only know that because when I pciked up the tools a week ago, I begun were I left off in that photo 3 years ago. What was so important that it took me 3 years to return, I don't know. I wish it felt like 3 years and not 1 year.

Anyway, I had other things on my plate, other things to do, but time and time again the other things were impacted because I had not finished the attic, stuff out of place, space being used up by things that should have been stored away. So I built up the motivation to return last week and first up was to complete the side access point doors to prevent flies getting in... done, easier than I remembered leaving them half done.

So phase 1 was the floor, 2 was the rafter insulation and 3 the plasterboard on the walls. Phase 4 now starting, which is to frame, insulate and plasterboard these gable ends this photo being one of them. Again never done this before, it has taken some head scratching to work out what to do, but I think I've got it, well at least a loose plan. There is not that much to do once these 2 walls are done and the day when we can use this attic properly can't come soon enough, so I can get on with the other stuff :-/ Here's hoping this is the last June I spend for hours on end in there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.