A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Learn, Learn, Learn!

It is dry and hot here in Palm Springs but not to worry - there are ways to stay cool - it's called misters and they work rather well. It is a little hard on the hair style and the eye glasses, but I haven't heard one complaint.

The Handcrafted Soap Guild Annual Conference of 2009 is quite an event. The day began with Erin Brockovitch (not Julia Roberts) as our keynote speaker this morning and it ended with a Mardi Gras party with feathery masks for everyone, a free-flowing ice sculpture martini bar, and entertainers. It's quite evident that we are not too far from Hollywood.

I'm not sure I can take much more of this intense soaping/training. I learned how to make lotions today - emulsifiers are the key. I learned the importance of record keeping, which heavily influences profit/loss (egads!). I also learned how to use natural ingredients to achieve deep saturated colors in soap. Oh and I also learned that I passed the certification test. And there are two more days to go. How much can one person learn in one conference? I think my head might explode. But I'm loving it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.