A strange boxful

Another dullish day with occasional hints of rain, but nothing developed. a good day for working outside so I did some more garden and plant fiddling about. I made some new glazing clips out of a soup tin and finally got the last roof panes on the glasshouse!  I was looking for some cutters to cut the tin and went up into the loft in the search for tools. I looked into a box, of which there are Many, and found to my amazement four strange bedfellows. 

First my old ocarina, which I hadn't seen - or played - for years. I have no idea now where I got it! Secondly a huge cone, which I remember as being from Pinus coulteri, the Big Cone Pine from Mexico and California. I can't imagine where its common name came from!! The tree was a young one growing in the Woodland Garden in Bushy Park where I worked in the early 1970s. I think this might have been its first cone. Thirdly a selection of pieces of old clay pipe which I dug up during my time in Holyrood Palace Gardens in Edinburgh and finally, and most excitingly, the top of a human skull which I nicked when some work was being done in the frame yard at Holyrood Palace - a water pipe trench or something. A load of human bones were found and I picked up this piece of bone. 

Not sure if it was a burial pit from the Black Death or what, so this morning I wrote to the authorities at Edinburgh Castle to ask if they knew any more. I had a quick reply - information from the Palace was restricted without permission from the Royal Household! Maybe I should write to the Queen, having bumped into her one evening in the Palace Gardens!

I've put another picture of the skull fragment, plus the pipes, on as extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.