Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Emperor Dragonfly

When we were out yesterday we talked to another photographer at Risley who mentioned a site that was supposed to be good for dragonflies that we were not aware of - Rixton Clay Pits. It's only about 25 minutes drive so today we went over to take a look. Stupidly, we went after lunch and it was very hot yet again - so probably quite good for dragons, but not for me - I came away with heat rash which was annoying. 
Luckily there was a bit of shade to give us a tad of respite, but the main dragon action was of understandably over the ponds. Most of these were in direct sunlight with no shelter at all, so we didn't spend a great deal of time out there. There seemed to be lots of four-spotted chasers about but as I blipped one only the other day, I held out for something different. We did see a couple of broad bodied chasers(I think), but my favourite dragon of the day was this female emperor who was too busy laying eggs to be bothered by me! I don't recall seeing this for a few years, so of course it had to be my blip and now we have another new site to visit as well - a good result I think. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.