A Bit Of A Pickle Fifty Years Ago

Fifty years ago today our daughter was born here at home. MrQ got a shock when the midwife told him to dress his ginger-headed new-born daughter. After the nurse had gone he got out the wine he had brought back from a horticultural fact-finding trip to Germany and served it to all the people who used to help us on the nursery. Mrs.Chappell played the old upright piano and there was singing and dancing. My mother, who was meant to be looking after me and wasn't used to drinking, got drunk. MrQ gave her a kiss and tucked her up in bed. The midwife returned to check on my daughter and me and told everybody off. :) Robin, our best carnation cutter, who my daughter always used to say she was going marry, suffered a bad hangover and couldn't come into work the following day, which was at the height of the cut flower season.

I picked up my daughter and son-in-law and drove them to The Dog and Pickle in Moreton where we had a fantastic lunch and they sampled various cocktails. Even though dogs are welcome Ollie dog stayed at home and looked after MrQ because it would have been too much for him. We're going to have a birthday lunch at home for her in a couple of weeks' time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.