Doune about here

If you didn’t know that it was there, you would have no clue from the road between Inverie and Airor that there was a substantial settlement of four houses, a residential lodge, and four “hotel” rooms and a dining room, not to mention a boat shed and miscellaneous other functional buildings down here. Or “Doune here”. No clue from the roadside apart from miscellaneous cars parked in some lay-byes.

We’ve had an exceptionally quiet day on a grey day with much low cloud and intermittent drizzle (and quite a lot of wind). I had a (non work) online meeting in the middle of the day which meant it was impossible to go off with others on the boat, so instead after my meeting we headed up the hill to the road just for a leg stretch. I find that the underlying exhaustion I’ve been experiencing comes out on a day like this. Whenever I sat down with a book, my eye lids kept drooping. I’m not “tired” as I am sleeping well here, unsurprisingly, but I am exhausted in quite a different way. It has been very good indeed for me to switch my brain off completely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.