Talleyrand Park, Clad in June Green

My husband and I went up to Bald Eagle State Park for a morning swim, with a breakfast stop on the way at the Burger King in Bellefonte. Heat and thunderstorms were expected later in the day. So we got moving early.

We had a very nice swim and planned to be home before 2 p.m., as that's when the big thunderstorm warnings began, from 2 to 11. But as we were swimming, my husband asked, "Do you think you could eat a tuna hoagie from Bonfatto's?"

COULD I? Well, heck yeah! Bonfatto's has the best tuna hoagie that I know of, and it was a favorite treat for my friend and office-mate Ellen and me, back in the day. So we decided to swing by Bellefonte again, on our way home.

I told my husband I'd spend 10 minutes at Talleyrand Park while he went in and ordered our hoagies, and so that's exactly what I did. The park sits on a creek, right by the big spring run that Bellefonte is so famous for. The water is beautiful and crystal clear. Sometimes you can see the Match Factory buildings from here, but not these days, through all the trees.

So I walked as far and as fast as I could in my 10 minutes, and above is a photo of the beautiful green trees along the creek. There are many birds hanging out there, and people come and feed them. There is also a cool swinging bridge, if you can handle that sort of thing. And a lovely pavilion, where people sometimes get married.

We took the hoagies home to eat them, and as I picked mine up - you may see it with its authentic Bonfatto's bag in the extras - my husband said, "This one is for The Boot!" (Referencing my good friend Ellen, who passed away in the fall, very quickly and very unexpectedly. This was my first tuna hoagie since her passing.) And so I raised my very fine tuna hoagie in salute. Indeed, this one is for you, my Boot!

I've got two pictures, so let's have two songs. Here is one for water: Water is Wide, by the Indigo Girls, Jewel, and Sarah McLachlan. And here is one for friends: Lyle Lovett and Randy Newman, You've Got a Friend in Me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.