A very full day

My lovely friends will be pleased to know that I slept well on the thin blow up mattress. Jon said I would, but I wasn't convinced. May be I was just shattered.

This Royal Highland Show opens at 7.30am! I couldn't believe it. Jon woke at 7 and brought me a cup of tea. I surfaced at about 7.30 and trekked over to the loos where I couldn't believe the number of people queuing to get into the show. Bleary eyes I went back for breakfast. Jon cooked bacon, eggs, sausage slices (a Scottish thing perhaps?) and black pudding (I'm not keen) over an open fire. But it was a good breakfast to set us up for the day.

The weather has been outstanding. The visitors many, and Dave and Jon have been fully occupied teaching firelighting, water purifying, and sending groups out on the lake in canoes. In general there has been a lot of interest.

I spoke to some people about the tarp and hammock we have set up, and about the tarp on its own. I will add a photo if I remember.

I had a long walk around the whole of the show. Obviously captivated by some hatching chick's and ducklings, but there were lots of other interesting things to see. Cattle, sheep, horses. We are next to a small ring, so I've heard the ferret man and the fly fishing man twice doing their demonstrations. I've also been shown how to 'felt' a fleece, and heard how wasted our wool is. It's burnt because it costs farmers to get rid of it. Such a waste. I fancy spinning my own wool, but felting a whole fleece was interesting too.

Chilli is cooking now, over the fire. Dave made it while Jon and I had another wander. I've had a shower so feel a bit more human. Looking forward to the next 3 days of more of the same!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.