Fading

Thank goodness for the cloud cover today which definitely ameliorated temperatures. At 5.30 pm the sun came out weakly and illuminated this posy of dying/dead flowers. I did like the effect. The flowers were fading just like the afternoon drifting into evening.

One or two things happened today. I found out that the local furniture shop makes divan bases to order. That will be significantly cheaper than buying a bed from the bed shop. Mattresses are a different matter.

I also managed to get rid of my fat fryer. I'd been meaning to do it for several months and had even bought something that would have congealed the oil making it easier to dispose of in the dustbin. I pulled out the fryer and found a pile of crumbs and mouse poo behind it. Oh oh.

Then I opened the fryer, and believe me, I had not left the lid off the fryer. What should I find floating in the oil but the corpse of a mouse. I got Len to come and remove it and to throw away the oil. He explained how the mouse had probably got in. I hope we don't get anymore. The bait traps seem to be working.

And I did get rid of the fryer on the way to town. 

Not only do air fryers save on oil, they're much more cost effective, I read, and they're rather cheaper now than when I first looked. Amazon had helpfully collated a set of reviews about the fryers they sell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.