Matariki Holiday

Today NZ is having a public holiday called Matariki, which is Maori New Year.  Here in Wanaka we are celebrating the new year tomorrow, with fun activities for the children including Kapa Haka, (line dancing) Hangi (food cooked over hot stones) and Fireworks.  I usually photograph the fireworks which are on about 7 p.m., so I will be blipping much later than usual.  It is always a great afternoon and evenings entertainment.

Today started with a beautiful sunrise, which I braved the cold to go and photograph. (-4C)   I wasn't alone (extra 1)  Extra 2 missed the cut, and extra 3 is when the sun came up, looking at The Buchanan Mountain Range.

I had a late breakfast, and after doing a grocery shop parked at Bremner Bay and walked from there to Beacon Point in the beautiful sunshine.  I even had to take my jacket off near the end of the walk.  +9C.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.