Turkish delight

AKA my delight from Turkey. I came across pieces of this geranium discarded on the pavement in Marmaris 3 years ago while going walkabout one early morning. Well, I think it was meant to be.  I could'nt just leave them there, they made the pavement look untidy :-). The pieces made many plants when I got home, which I've shared with family & friends. Mine put on a fabulous show each summer before returning to the cold greenhouse when it gets chilly. It's actually chilly outside today. 2 days ago 30deg C. Rain forecast but the little we had last night barely dampened the ground.
I made an executive decision on the allotment this morning. I pulled out the row of turnips that of course had all germinated, unlike the carrots, pathetic, & beetroot, not much better, to make space for the leek seedlings I have aplenty. We enjoy leeks, Mum too, so I turned the ground, hoed between the carrots & beetroot. Gave a top dressing in readiness to plant out the leeks in a weeks time.
Fruit bushes laden with fruit but not ripe enough to pick yet. I had a long chat with Julie another plot holder, I gave her some pieces of Houseleeks (Sempervivums) for her rockery garden at home, she reciprocated with half a dozen very freshly laid hen eggs, then we got chatting about nematodes, mulching with sheep's fleece, & other slug deterrents, then she cut a lettuce for me to bring home too. I love allotment life :-) Such a happy band of folks!

Spoke to Mum's doctor about the awful pain she is experiencing in her hands during the night. The Paracetemol & Ketoprofen gel not working, he suggested Futura splints. I bought one backalong for hubby so dropped that one down to Mum, showed her to wear it. IF she gets some relief from wearing it during the night then I will buy two for her on-line. Doc does'nt want to give her stronger painkillers if can be avoided.
Hubby has gone off for his pre op check up at the R,D,& E now. Admission 7.30am Monday. Fingers crossed no problems this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.