Wood Chewer

I thought I would take a pic of a flower as it is Friday, but was distracted by this wasp on our back garden gate. I watched as it chewed at the wood (I was close enough to listen to it chewing, a fascinating auditory experience. The wasp was unbothered by my proximity). The paste forms the material from which these social wasps build their papery nests. Indeed it is thought that humans got the idea for making paper by watching wasps turn unpromising wood into the flexible material required for nest creation.

We’ve been thinking of replacing our gate, as it is rotting in parts. We need to do that whilst there is still a gate here.

Bees evolved from wasps, which have an ancient lineage. Wasps are just as interesting, although my rational self can get taken over by irrational me when I am trying to eat something outside on a sunny day and the local wasps decide to pitch in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.