Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Dads 90th

It's my dads 90th birthday today, and we put on a surprise birthday party for him at Monmouthshire Golf Club, Llanfoist, Abergavenny (South Wales UK) to celebrate and mark the occasion.

The photograph shows my sister and brother coming into the room with him where he expected it just to be us and partners. He was quite surprised to see loads of other family members who taken the day off or travelled a long distance to be there. My dad is the oldest of 8 children born to my Grandparents. It is only him and two sisters who are alive, his brother Johnny having died on Monday, who was due to be there.

My dad is amazing for 90, physically very fit and mentally alert, still driving and doing puzzles and crosswords daily. He's computer savvy and indeed we clubbed together to buy him a new laptop to replace the one bought for his 80th!! I presented it to him after making an after dinner speech and toast.

This is the only digital photograph I have of the event as I committed a beginner error of not checking all my camera settings and it was left on manual focus from when I last used it, so all others are blurred!!!! I hope the film ones are okay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.