Heartsick

When I opened my phone this morning, the news of the unconscionable Supreme Court decision depriving women of a constitutional right to abortion felt like a sock to the stomach. I knew it could happen, but the shock of knowing that that right is now gone was dreadful.  I've been heartsick about it all day.  

Lex and Doug came over this afternoon to bring that old air conditioner of Doug's to set up in my tiny bedroom.  It took a lot of doing and the thing takes up an enormous amount of space (see Extra.)  But with the heatwave we've got coming up this weekend, it's a chance to see if something like that will help me stay cool.  They took care of a number of things that needed to be done around the apartment that I'm no longer able to do for myself.  I can never thank them enough.

This little rose bush lives on the terrace and I was glad to find it in a still-blooming state.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.