WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Le Chateau

I didn't even know there was a chateau in Rieux-Minervois, better known for its church, which is 14-sided on the outside and seven-sided on the inside. Luckily I checked the venue for the concert I went to, because I assumed it would be in the church, when it was actually in a barn in the courtyard of the chateau.

I went because the 18-member choir includes some members of my choir, and they were doing a programme of sacred music including some pieces I know and like. All of it was a capella and the first half was a quartet of really not very confident singers -- it was a bit wince-making at times. The full choir was much better, fortunately, so I was able to tell them I'd enjoyed it. I particularly liked a rather jazzy Russian Orthodox S Nami Bog (God is with us), and An Irish Blessing, a great choice for an encore.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.