On a mission

Last time I went to Calke Abbey I saw some “scrambled egg plants”. We used to have these on the rockery at home when I was a child. I have since learned that they’re really known as “poached egg plant” ( and they have a Latin name too.) 

I saw them in the vegetable garden and resolved to buy some when I got back to the shop near the car park. They didn’t have any. The assistant didn’t know anything about them and I hadn’t the mobility to walk back up to the gardens.

Today, I went in search.

I got to the vegetable garden again but couldn’t see them.
I couldn’t see any gardeners.

Luckily, Sarah, one of the senior members of the team, was by the Orangery. I asked her about the plants.

She explained that they use them as companion plants to broad beans. They attract Lacewings who feed on the Aphids. Perfect. They’ve finished flowering but she fetched me several clumps, soaked them well and wrapped them. (Extra).

I gave a donation happily and I’m going to do my best to look after them. 

I always spend a short while looking over towards the reservoir. In the field to my left there are sometimes deer. Today I was thrilled to see quite a few, with healthy young antlers. 

Some places just make me happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.