Jackdaws flocking in the garden at dusk

I watered the garden late in the evening and as I was finishing I noticed the jackdaws were beginning to gather flying in small groups around the tall trees at the bottom of the garden.

I turned off the hose and brought out my camera. The sky was clear and beginning to turn redder in the west as the sun went down. Within a few minutes the birds had settled on the ash tree at the end of the garden, a tree which attracts many species at different times of the day and in changing seasons.

I watched with my camera focused on the bird at the highest point of the tree and waited, knowing they were likely to swoop away suddenly. I don’t know what caused this particular movement but I reacted slightly slowly. 

I found this entry on a website:
Jackdaws are highly gregarious and are generally seen in small to large flocks, though males and females pair-bond for life and pairs stay together within flocks. Flock sizes increase in autumn and large flocks group together at dusk for communal roosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.