This is the day

By wrencottage

Sniffing around ...

I’m happy to report that I had a much better day today! 

Our handyman friend from church came this morning to investigate the blocked drain from our washing machine. He cleared it out for us and we’ve put a better cover over the drain to prevent leaves getting in again, so hopefully the problem won’t recur. He also did lots of other bitty jobs that we’ve been saving up for him, like replacing smoke sensors, tightening our kitchen tap and mending my hot brush, which was only working intermittently. He amazed me by showing me the inside of the plug – it had a continental two-pronged plug lying inside what looked like a normal three-pin plug, except that it had some sort of converter inside to make it suitable for UK use. No wonder it wasn’t working properly, but why on earth was a British company selling an appliance that wasn’t fitted with a UK plug?

Meanwhile, I’ve been busy on my Mac all day doing a massive amount of ‘housekeeping’ work to try and get it shipshape again. I’ve had such a busy spell over the past few weeks that my filing and organising had got very behind, and it was getting me down. Everything has been done now, so I am up to date in all areas of my life except for one. I apologise to all my blip friends for my lack of commenting over the past few days; I will try and catch up as soon as I can. I don’t know what I’d have done without you all over the past few weeks, your journal entries, comments and stars have given me so much interest and pleasure; thank you so much.

I haven’t had time to go out and take photos today, except for a brief window when I first came downstairs this morning, when the wildlife in the garden was keeping me amused. This fox was sniffing around the bird feeders and scaring off the pigeons and blue tits, who were queueing up in the bushes a short distance away, waiting for him to scarper!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.