Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Busy day

The chaps came to fix up and paint our windows today. Archie went crazy at first, and then got quite used to them. In the afternoon, he was even sitting in the lounge watching them up ladders. (Extra 1) They did a good job too. 

Maggie and her dad popped in for a coffee. Maggie went straight into Archie’s toy box (after checking out his food bowl). Archie sulked by the door, watching her. (Extra 2)

JR and Chrissy planned to take Archie for a big walk in the afternoon. I went with them across the Meadows, but decided that popping in to Kauai for a coffee was far enough. I sat and re-lived my Norwegian holiday of five years ago on my phone - that’s what’s great about blip!

I then decided I needed an ice cream, but the first shop was mobbed, so I went along to the next one, which was not mobbed, and was £1 cheaper! I wanted to see the new exhibition at the National Library called ‘Treasures’. They have a love letter from Robert Burns to his sweetheart ‘Clarinda’ (Ae Fond Kiss) and a map of the Battle of Culloden. And a handwritten letter from Charles Darwin to his Scottish publisher - the book, The Origin of the Species - was a sell out.

My bus was due, but when I went out I heard crowds shouting and general hubbub up the road. Yes, it was the ‘Pride’ March through town, so my bus would have been stuck anyway. I went down to the Grassmarket, thinking the parade was going that way, but they veered up Candlemaker Row and round to the uni campus. I followed them a bit, but they were walking too fast for me. Anyway, they didn’t have any drummers so it was just a procession. A big one at that.

And so I walked home, doing rather more steps than I had intended. (8,283 steps) In fact I was just home before the real walkers arrived, and Chrissy came in for afternoon tea - scones and jam and cream.

Photo by JR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.