So true!

We headed to IKEA early in the day to get Leo some extra storage for his bedroom in the hope that actually helps him keep it tidy!  Don’t hold your breath.

We got some good old Billy bookshelf units to construct a corner sweep of his room.  Annoyingly they didn’t have the brackets to secure the units together so we ordered those to arrive on Monday.  We did manage to get the three units built and up in his room.  So just need to wait a couple of days to properly secure them together before he starts adding loads of stuff to them.

On Sunday I am going to get him to have a massive sort out so that he doesn’t put a load of old stuff back.  That is all sitting in the bath at the moment from when we emptied the room!  The theory is he only moves back what he needs and he should have more than enough room to house all that.  

We dithered in the shop as to whether the units would actually fit in thE car or whether we should play it safe and get it delivered.  We decided things would just fit but maybe not with any passengers.  We were so right!  We squeezed the units in but only by putting all the back seats and the front passenger seat out of action.  So Ian tootled home alone to unpack and Leo and I whiled away the time with breakfast in the store until Ian reappeared.

I also attempted to open a bank account for Leo - what a palaver! He has a GoHenry account but that is a bit of a faff. It works well when kids are little  and you need loads of control but is not flexible enough for us anymore.

I attempted to do it online as Barclays suggested I could do that via a Video Banking option in my Barclays app. I didn’t have that! We popped into a branch in Exeter to see if we could open one but they said we would need to make an appointment and the next one was on Thursday - no chance of that working around Leo’s school schedule.  They did activate the video banking option in my app.  I tried that but ended up in a 35 person long queue. I gave that 45 minutes and then bailed.  I tried again at home and there was another long queue of about an hour. I finally got to the front and the video banking app sprung to life, I saw my self on screen and then it closed itself.  Tried again and after another long queue it did it all over again.  So after a wasted trip to the branch and 3 failed online attempts, I admitted defeat!  What a palaver.  I have decided to live with annoying Henry until the summer holidays when I can more easily get into a branch and sort it with Leo.  

If only our Cully branch hadn’t closed a few years back we would have had it sorted in an instant.  We don’t have any bank in Cully anymore so I can’t even strop off to a competitor for some satisfaction.

Ah well, at least that gives us a job to do in the summer.

So that was a long write up for a long and somewhat frustrating day.  But at least we have 3 shelving units up without any DIY disasters so we are thankful for that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.