Small tortoiseshell butterfly on Red Valerian

I spotted this Small Tortoiseshell butterfly enjoying the  flowers of the Red Valerian which springs up all over  my garden. I pull it up when it gets in the way but it is a good nectar source, and there was also a Hummingbird Hawkmoth feeding on the flowers (too fast to photograph!). The family tortoise also likes eating the foliage so I find it is a useful weed.  

Busy again today preparing for our Devon holiday and  also trying to finish a photobook for my Mother's  imminent 91st birthday. It commemorates  her 2021 when she  was 90. I had all the photos ready in three folders on the computer but the slow bit is arranging and  titling them on the on- screen templates. I'm using  CEWE whose designs are very attractive, but there is a bewildering choices  of layouts, typefaces, finishes, colours, etc  from which to choose.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.