Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

Honing....

... my video skills today. Hopefully I am slowly capturing some finesse. 

Firstly though, I fixed a problem with may camera slider used in the video. The rubber belt that transports the camera carriage seems to have developed kinks at the two ends where it loops around the cogs at each end at the position the slider is stored in its case. That made the camera movement jerky when the belt reached that position which had a profound impact on any video at that point.
I removed the belt and heated it at those points using steam. That seems to have relaxed the rubber so I am hoping that any video is a little smoother. So, on to doing some video!

I don't pretend that the content is massively interesting (to most). That isn't the point. Am trying do stuff that is more technically challenging than the average YouTube Video.

Shot in 4k with some parts in 8k and then a Ken Burns crop added to create some hopefully creative dynamic zooms and parallax effects.

There is one clip that is mostly out of focus sadly, but, even that has some creative feel to parts of it. 

The workflow challenge is huge compared to stills which is hard enough. Many things to consider from equipment, setting up, camera settings, slider settings, lens choice, editing, choice of stills to use etc etc. I haven't even touched on audio.
I now have huge admiration to the cinematography used in even the average tv programmes like Vera. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.