Woodies on the Wharf

The 26th annual gathering of classic surf mobiles, featuring over 200 woody wagons. The main event was yesterday, but this morning a string of cars got together for the traditional Sunday drive along the cliffs, delighting all of us who were out for a stroll. I stood around with a bunch of car guys to watch the parade and loved eavesdropping: everyone had a new fact about some car that was passing by: I talked to that guy yesterday, and he did this to the paneling, and they did that to the engine, and no, they didn't really do that....  It was a hoot.
And that was only part of this wonderful morning, starting with a young man playing an upbeat version of Summertime on his guitar. And then (see Extra) I came across Daniel, playing a Tom Thumb piano in the back of his truck. He just got the piano and he was so thrilled and it just fit in the back of his pickup and he played Kermit's Rainbow Connection for me. A woman and her lovely wet sandy dog sat on a bench together, both with the same goofy totally consuming grins.
Oh, it was a wonderful time! I've put a couple more shots of the cars in Extras. How many photographers can you find in the close-up?

Some of you may remember that two weeks ago my surgery got cancelled because there was a shortage of support staff. Well, it's on for tomorrow. At least I hope it is. Stay tuned, although I may not chime in for a couple days...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.