At the Park

Well, after that concert one of us slept very well. One, unfortunately, seemed to be suffering from a case of food poisoning. Not the best place for that sort of thing. So first thing off I went to the campsite shop - no Imodium - apparently there had been a run on it. Nothing for it but to trot onward to the pharmacy near the pyramid stage. I admit I also got a coffee and an Observer so it wasn’t an entirely selfless trip.
Back to deliver the supplies and I was sent on my way. So midday found me on my tod, with my tins of cider and a bag of crisps (note: how to avoid food poisoning); a glorious day of blue skies and first up, Sea Girls at the Other Stage. Beezer! The young people danced and sang. The oldies lay on the grass. On to the Park to see Warmduscher and herself arrived, very much on the mend. Or over the worst. Then Cate le Bon with perfect music for a sunny afternoon and some more local apple drink.
We stopped awhile at the Fontaines but they were just shouty, tuneless and loud, so after Diana Ross’s crowds had dispersed we pressed in to see old Guy Garvey and Elbow. You’ve got to love that - one day like this a year would see me right. Indeed.
Then a break, over at the Summer House while the sun sank low. And finally those Pet Shop Boys giving us a reliable set of their greatest tunes. So, that’s it over for another year. And for us, probably for good. But first, kip. If only the lasses in the next tent will keep it down for once.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.