Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

They don't make 'em like that any more

An optional 'Royal' theme for Mono Monday and this is the best I could manage.  An old LP I inherited from my parents many years ago and rather unusual as it is a 10 inch LP rather than the more normal 12 inch.  "King's Rhapsody" was a musical by Ivor Novello and told the tale of love, betrayal and mistaken identity involving the King of the fictional mid-European country of Murania.  It originally played in London in 1949 and although neither the record nor the sleeve are dated the sleeve notes suggest this was probably released in the mid to late 1950's.  I don't recall ever having heard it play so decided to have a listen and was pleasantly surprised, albeit I suspect none of the music would go down well at Glastonbury.  It definitely has that rather intense semi operatic style that was popular in musicals of the day and which is rather dated nowadays.  I wonder if my parents bought it after seeing the show on stage?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.