Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

I decided that Sunday was the safest day to try out the bike. I have not ridden my bicycle since some time in December. For the last few months it's been locked up outside in all weathers unused in Henley, and I almost didn't bother bringing it with me, but I'm so glad that I did!
Both tyres needed a bit of traditional manual inflation, not beyond my capabilities, and then off I pedalled. I began with the knowledge I had in my head from yesterday's foot exploration, did a bit of a double-check at the back-to-front council map, and then headed off to see how badly lost or otherwise I might get.
I didn't get lost. At one point I asked a family for confirmation that I was heading in the right direction, and I was, with no further hitches I made my way to the very place I had been interviewed back in May.
The cycle paths were infinitely superior to my daily commute in Chatham, and the elderly tyres held up all the way there and back. I am now happy that I can continue to ride this bike until it finally falls to bits, and then replace it with something similar. Absolutely no need for an upgrade.
I took a slightly better route back home, which happens to go through the edge of the big Tesco car park, so it seems that I will be able to include a daily shop on my way home from work after all.
I celebrated with a late afternoon pint in the perfect pub I found four weeks ago.
Bedford is getting better and better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.