The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Wookie?

This is one of the older calves, and he has the most extraordinary, hairy face. Every time I look at him, I'm reminded of a former, very hirsute colleague - a pair of black rimmed spectacles and the likeness would be exact. As for the little calf from the last two mornings, no unsteadiness on his hooves today, he was prancing and kicking his heels in the air. And it was a beautiful, warm (relatively) and bright Spring morning - I was almost kicking my hooves in the air.

I have had company this afternoon and evening, our friend Pat is staying, and I had strict instructions to take her out for a meal to mark the passing of a significant birthday.

When I went to the bathroom first thing today for my morning wash and shave, I found I had a large smear of dried blood across my cheek. Now, did I cut myself somehow in the night, or did Bob the cat jump on me without waking me up? Or could that blood have been smeared across my face since the previous day's shave? I started thinking of all the places I had been, the people I had spoken to, was it possible that it had been there all along? Had I not looked in a mirror at any stage during the day? I'm not sure that I did. This is one of the hazards of being home alone, there's no-one to save you from embarrassments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.