Abstract: Light and Motion

I took some photos of the reflections on my favorite little vernal pond in the Scotia Barrens. My pond is - sadly - shrinking. But it is still a source of light in the forest. When I walk past, it shines in shades of green and blue and yellow out of the shadows of darkness.

I snapped this photo after something jumped, or dropped. And caught a few concentric circles spreading out. Like that scene in the 1978 Superman movie when there are like bursts of these sound wave thingies and then Zod and the others finally escape their imprisonment. Yeah, like that. But QUIET.

I hate to see my little pond disappearing, and I hope this will be a summer in which it stays all year long. Somehow, even with all of my pictures, I can't remember if it will. But a girl can hope, right? A girl can hope that this pond - this source of joy, of art, of light in the forest - will stay!

As is the case for just about EVERYthing, there is an 80s soundtrack song for that! Here's a good one, and I'll bet you can't name the group, but you know the song. The tune is If You Leave, from 1986, by OMD. What does OMD stand for? Orchestral Manoeuvres (YES, with the oeuv!) in the Dark! See, I toldya you couldn't guess it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.