Lost dog...

She loves to run so sprinted off across the sand as usual then turned and made a bee line for the dunes, again typical - there are often cook-out remnants in the hollows.
I headed towards the beach cafe at the other end where she usually ends up scavenging for crumbs. No dog. Well, lots of dogs but not mine.
I head back to the other end where I last saw her (it's a long beach).
Are you looking for your dog? It was here just now.... said several people.
A helpful couple at the far end suggest she's gone across the river. No, that can't be her I say, she hates water and never enters it voluntarily.
I trudge back to the cafe end, shouting her name. Are you looking for a lost dog asks the cafe person, someone was reporting one just now - she went that way. I go that way - no dog, no someone.
Trudge back to starting point, legs weary, voice hoarse. Helpful couple repeat advice about checking across the river. I go to there, no sign. But another helpful couple on the other (harbour) side confirm she was sighted just now - and suddenly she appears. I call her and she plunges in and swims (!!!) across to me. She's delirious with anxiety, guilt and relief.

It's 90 minutes since she ran off. I thank the helpful couples (both of whom used  binoculars to spot her - memo for the future). We race for the bus and at home both collapse, exhausted, for the rest of the afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.