Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Flowering Stalk

(catch up blip 1 of 2)

Over the last few weeks, I've been sharing the asparagus like stalk growing from my desert spoon (link is a photo).  What you're seeing here is what counts as their blooms/flowers. Many species of birds love it because it's full of seeds. It's not going to get any taller at this point. My hope is that won't kill my plant but I'm not very hopeful. I should know soon because it will dry up and the entire thing will fall over. In my case, into the street.

The weather has been hit and miss. Plenty of thunderstorms but no rain. Strangely, even though the storms haven't brought anything but a few drops, occasionally it cools things off, or at least brings in a cooler breeze.

I spoke to my college Florida friend.  She lost her husband a year ago. I've called her a few times since but this time she called me. I'm glad she did since she needed to talk. Glad that I could be there for her.

“Close friends are truly life's treasures. Sometimes they know us better than we know ourselves. With gentle honesty, they are there to guide and support us, to share our laughter and our tears. Their presence reminds us that we are never really alone.”
― Vincent van Gogh

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.