Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

B for Books

I recently bought the 50 Photo Icon book (bottom) from our local Costco & despite having a cheesy title, it is actually very very good indeed. It covers a wide range of subjects, mostly being key historical moments in both photography & human history itself. And this led me to taking a picture of my photography book collection.

Infrared Photography (LHS) & Point 'n' Shoot (top) are my own books printed through Photobox a couple of years ago.

The rest were bought either from a charity shop or library clearout sale.

Time is not on my side for doing a full write-up on these books, but I must say in this day & age you colud just google the names & find out yourself! Which in turn brings me to The Hamlyn Basic Guide To Photography. When I was a young boy, all we had was books, BBC1, BBC2 & ITV (no channel 4 or 5 back then, honestly) and when we wanted to know something that our parents couldn't answer this is what we had to resort to!

And Hamlyn had a canny knack of producing wonderfully colourful books covering various subjects (solar system, machines, ships, cars, areoplanes Earth etc) explaining how everything works in simple to understand English. How times have changed.

Talking of English, Happy St George's Day!!!!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.