Ephesus: ballet and surprises

This evening Graham, Kat, Robin and I went to the Ancient Greek site of Ephesus, just over an hour away, (thank you Graham for driving us there) to see Izmir National Ballet and orchestra perform 'the Hunchback of Notre Dame' - I've never heard of the ballet before  - as part of the 5th International Ephesus Opera and Ballet Festival.  An opportunity not just to see a ballet - but in such amazing surroundings!

I suppose, as similar things have happened to me before wandering around Turkey, I shouldn't have been quite so pleasantly surprised when the couple who, of all the places they could have chosen,  came and sat next to me in this auditorium of many hundreds+, then turned to me and said, quite surprised themselves ... "oh, hello Miss HB" .  Yup, ex students, graduates of 2013.   I mean, what are the chances? 

The ballet was enjoyable, the orchestra made a lovely sound in these acoustics, and the whole place was ethereal and delightful, making a very special evening indeed - tho I have a feeling I might be rather stiff and achey tomorrow after climbing all those steps , sitting on a stone ledge (although it was surprisingly comfortable) for 2.5 hours then climbing all the way back down again!! 

Ephesus is a Unesco world heritage site. More information here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.