Summer time

A thoroughly enjoyable day.  Woke early after a better night's sleep than I usually manage, and after pottering for a while, it dawned on me that I feel really ok for the first time in at least 2 months or more, with an energy and interest that has been totally absent for a long time. In fact, sufficient energy to be in the pool by 11.15 for a half hour swim. Afterwards, with a delicious brunch of water melon, white cheese and salad, enjoying the novelty of feeling well, I contemplated on just how long I have felt below par - months I think - I do so hope it's all over now. 

A couple of hours online tutoring this afternoon included a last lesson with a woman in Istanbul I've been tutoring for months. Initially, she and her husband had plans to emigrate to Canada, but recently learning they are pregnant, have decided to stay in Turkey. After the lesson she sent me the sweetest message of thanks and described me as 'family' now.  Quite a bond develops when you tutor someone twice or three times a week for months. It's like teaching friends.

Teaching finished at 18.00 and we (Graham and Kat) headed to the local beach taking Esra the woofer. Not sure I have ever seen a dog enjoy splashing about quite as much as she does. Her bounding along through the belly deep water was quite simply "absolute joy" personified. There was a nice surprise for me too when we opened the boot of Graham's car - as three brand new folding beach chairs made sitting on the beach so much easier, not least, no longer getting covered in soggy doggy and sand. The beach was busier than we've seen it before - but then with daily temperatures in mid 30s, I guess we can say that summer has arrived, as have the holiday makers.  I don't know how much business the sandy beach strolling sweetcorn seller made, but presumably enough to make it worth his while and provide me with a Blip.

For dinner, we went to the nearby 'colorful chairs' cafe where I enjoyed pide, salad, chips and my first beer for more than ten days :)

Robin arrives tomorrow.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.