wrperry

By wrperry

Conservation Efforts

I learned after we arrived on Cape Cod that one mile of shoreline at a favorite beach is closed for the foreseeable future.  A portion of this area is roped off every year to protect the nesting Piping Plovers and Least Terns.  Apparently this year, someone had driven over two plover chicks in the parking lot, which was enough for the conservationists to take action and close the entire beach while they are nesting.  This morning I was happy to see multiple nests and chicks, indicating that the effort is working.  The only people I encountered were a handful of photographers, all of us with very long lenses, staying far away from the grassy breeding area.  

The chick in my main photo is very young, and along with its two siblings (in extras) stayed very close to home.  I have also included a photo of a parent bringing their favorite food to feed the chicks, and maybe mom too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.