Lala's Journal

By Lala

Roller coaster

Of a day!
Up at 5am and began the day editing the tribute web page, adding some photos etc. At 9:30ish I made the call to the doctors. The good news was that they had received the verification, the bad news that the Medical Examiner now wanted more information regarding B’s medical history, treatments, medications, hospital admissions. Etc. I was told this could take several days! I then called the funeral directors, assuming they would know what this might mean in terms of delay, and whether it would be prudent to cancel the Friday appointment and re book for next week. She didn’t know but advised not to cancel until the last minute. She would email the surgery explaining our funeral date and request urgency. 

With nothing much to do James and I ventured into Ashford and I trawled the shops for a suitable black dress. He is more patient than his dad! Mid shopping centre my phone rang. It was the surgery who now felt that I hadn’t fully grasped what they had told me earlier, as they had received the email. Very firmly she said the medical examiner could take several days at least, and the prospect of a death certificate this week was negligible. She also said she doubted the funeral would be able to go ahead on the planned date. Feeling defeated, we went home. On the road my phone rang again. This time the registry office asking me why the paperwork wasn’t submitted when our appointment is Friday! I explained everything and she said that firstly she would chase the medical examiner and secondly, not to worry, even if we didn’t get it this week, they would fit us in as soon as it was submitted without the need to rebook. 

Later, amazingly the medical examiner rang. She explained that East Kent are the first to launch what will become a countrywide legislation later this year. Due to the Harold Shipman case the next of kin are asked if they agree with what the doctor is declaring the cause of death. She asked some pertinent questions and said she would send it off to the doctor, with the hope that would deal with it immediately in order for us to be able to keep the Friday appointment. Fingers crossed!

I walked Dog while James did a work video call and put a cottage pie in the oven. Fortunately enough for four as L&R popped in for a couple of hours. The three of us had an in-depth conversation. Not entirely the resolution I’d hoped for, but they both need to look after themselves first. 

Watched Andy Murray lose and I’ve come to bed while James watches Love Island. I don’t understand how my children can watch it!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.