ABSTRACT THURSDAY - ANIMAL or...

Mr. HCB was rather disappointed yesterday because the cricket was rained off. He was home by 3:30 and not only was he disappointed but he was also quite cold, so after a good night’s sleep, I decided this morning that it would be a good idea if we went out for a coffee especially as we haven’t seen each other properly since Sunday. We went to Hall and Woodhouse and enjoyed our coffee together, then Mr. HCB took the car round to the Waitrose car park while I walked over the bridge which spans the Wilts and Berks Canal.

I had already taken some photographs of the two swans on the canal, but as I walked over the bridge I was watching one of them having great fun preening. It ducked and dived under the water and then, when it came back up, spread its wings flapping them madly in order to dry them.

As the subject for Abstract Thursday is “Animal”, I hope that this will qualify - at least it’s not human but waterfowl.  We came home and had our lunch and then I had a play with my Deep Art Effects App and produced this, which is my entry for today and at least I’ve got the theme right, which makes a change!

We have had several heavy rain storms, but it has  now stopped raining and the sun is out so, of course, Mr HCB has gone round to the greenhouse, and says he’s just going to potter around there for  a while.  He says he also needs to pick peas, courgettes and carrots, so I guess that’s our evening meal vegetables sorted;  it’s so good to have them fresh from the garden.

“He now felt glad at having suffered
     sorrow and trouble,
          because it enabled him
to enjoy so much better
     all the pleasure and happiness
          around him;”
Hans Christian Andersen : The Ugly Duckling

P.S.  Who doesn’t love listening to Danny Kaye singing, "The Ugly Duckling"?  Even after many years, I can still sing every word! 

P.P.S.  Thank you for all your lovely comments yesterday - which were much appreciated. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.