Jack

Today I awarded myself a day off. The task list stayed in the drawer. 

General laziness ensued. I think the tone was set by sleeping a full 8 hours last night - a very rare event. Although I felt rested and well as a result, it also left me slightly disorientated. 

The day’s highlight was walking into the town centre to see the recently launched Vettriano exhibition. I had seen an exhibition of his work in Glasgow in 2013, so I did not expect much to be new and different, but it was still worth it. 

I knew* someone local who bought one of his early works for £33,000, and then cashed in big time after Jack became popular by selling it at auction for £744,800. 

One item which gets pride of place at the exhibition is the letter from Edinburgh University rejecting his application to study fine art - his portfolio was not good enough. It is good to see him getting recognition in his lifetime. 

Second best highlight was sitting in the garden in the sunshine for a while this afternoon, and managing to avoid thinking about all the garden jobs on the task list. 

* Alex is dead now. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.