Seaton Delaval Hall

This afternoon we took Son#2 and his partner to Seaton Delaval Hall, a National Trust property a few miles away. It's a relatively new acquisition by the Trust, having been in their care only since 2009. The last time we went, which must have been about 10 years ago (sadly, before I was a blipper), the main hall was full of scaffolding while they did repairs - but visitors were allowed to climb the scaffolding which was a short-lived opportunity which we were glad to take as we could get a close look at the fake marble statues part way up the walls.

The main hall was badly damaged by fire in 1822 so the work being done on our last visit was partly due to that.

For my blip I've chosen a view in the main hall, looking slightly upwards, to show the large reflective orb which they now have hanging from the ceiling. I like the effect!

There were so many blippertunities we'll certainly be going back for another visit before long - and as we're Trust Life members entry is free for us. The Hall has a fascinating history which you can read about here.

You'll notice that it's taken on my phone: I had my new camera with me but stupidly I'd left the SD card in my computer. Even more stupid: the camera has 2 slots but I'd not yet got round to putting a card in the other one. Doh!

A reminder: This coming Saturday is the first of the month and therefore is a hosted Silly Saturday in memory of Admirer. According to my calculations (I hope I'm right!) this is an extra-special one as it's the 300th Silly Saturday! So please put your thinking caps on in good time and dream up a fab blip for Saturday which would have made Admirer chuckle - or even laugh out loud!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.