A life cut short

As I was cutting the grass today I found a dead magpie next to the berry bushes. I imagined a cat hiding in the bushes and pouncing out, but I carefully examined the dead bird and could find no loose feathers and no other sign of violence - so the death is a mystery.
Many people dislike these birds but I find them beautiful to look at and fascinating to watch. Like many corvids they are sociable, noisy, adaptable, and love to play.
There's a family living on the edge of our garden and I've been watching the young magpies exploring their world. They featured in my June 15 blip, and I feel a little sad that one of them came to an early end. On that earlier day there were 4 youngsters begging from the two adults, so hopefully there are still three left.
Opportunities are not to be missed so I had a good look at the dead bird and took a few photographs, of which this is a detail. I'd always thought of magpies as black and white birds and was surprised to see how blue some of the feathers are.
The extra shows the whole bird, on the lawn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.