Treasure (for a bee)

We walk down to the cellar round the outside of the house, which means we pass quite a few flowers and flowering bushes as we go that way.  
Often in the late spring, with all the blossom on the trees, I go and stand under the tree and listen to the never ending buzz of many bees foraging for nectar and pollen. It's such a peaceful, almost reassuring, sound.  This year we were in England at the crucial time so I missed that experience. However, today as I headed down to the cellar I heard a mini-version of the same thing. Two big bushes were filled with tiny flowers and among them buzzed the bees. I stood and listened for some minutes, and then tried to get some photographs. No way! Though the bushes were full of bees they magically disappeared as I pushed the button, again and again, and the end result was hopeless, so you won't be seeing it!  On the other hand, this single foxglove provided 3 photos with bees doing their thing, which is why you are seeing the picture. The bee would choose a flower, scramble in, and then fight its way into the depths of the flower where the prize was hidden.
All my garden activity was in the morning because torrential rain was promised in the afternoon. It did rain, and it was torrential at times, but very short times so the potential water shortage is still on the cards.  It did rain enough to fill all our water butts though so that gives us a few days garden water.
I do like the summer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.