The Queen's Baton Relay

Katie was one of the locals chosen to carry the baton through Tywyn today.  We were all VERY excited!   Blessed with beautiful summer weather the procession made it's way through town, gathering baton bearers and a growing crowd along the way.   The endpoint in Tywyn was Wharf station and the baton travelled up to Abergynolwyn on the train - apart from a short 'Race the Train' section where bearers carried it in fields beside the line.   I also had to race the train as having seen it in Tywyn, I was working at Aber from mid-morning.    As an aside, the lady carrying the baton, just ahead of Katie, was the guard of the train on my very first day as a volunteer on the Talyllyn Railway when I was 16 ..which of course was only a few years ago ;-)

On returning home I walked Meg to the seafront where the sandy beaches were almost deserted.  My brother came to tea and then Jamie, Clara and I exercised the three dogs in the ball field at Rhydyronen.   Clara's dog, Hubble seemed to need to test all the possible exits from the field and had to be cajoled back after his escape efforts were successful!   I ran the youngsters back to the seafront at sunset and opted to sit there while I chatted with an old and good friend on the phone .... for an hour and a half!   So much to catch up on after a long gap in meeting up.   We've both experienced life-changing troubles in the interim but it seems we're both feeling more positive now.   There's a chance of a meet-up later in the summer.   Life does indeed go on.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.